Press Releases

Straight No Chaser Celebrates The Season With Atco/atlantic Records Debut, âHoliday Spiritsâ;
October 07 2008

Straight No Chaser Celebrates The Season With Atco/atlantic Records Debut, âHoliday Spiritsâ; Acclaimed A Cappella Group To Herald Release With Special Indiana University Homecoming Show; Album Arrives October 28th

Atco/atlantic Records Has Announced The Signing Of Acclaimed A Cappella Group Straight No Chaser. The Indiana University-Born, Ten-Man Ensemble â Which Caused A Youtube Sensation With Their Unique Take On âThe 12 Days Of Christmasâ â Will Release Their Debut Album, Entitled âHoliday Spirits,â On October 28Th. The AlbumâS Forthcoming Release Is Heralded By A Front Page Story In SundayâS New York Times Arts & Leisure Section (10/5 Edition), Entitled âA Cappella Dreaming,â Which Notes That âThis May Be The YearâS Most Unlikely Major-Label Story.â
Taking Off From The Runaway Success Of âThe 12 Days Of Christmasâ

(Http://, âHoliday Spiritsâ Sees Straight No Chaser Re-Energizing Holiday Classics Such As âThe Christmas Song,â âSilent Night,â And âChristmas (Baby Please Come Home)â With Their Captivating And Powerful Vocal Arrangements. âHoliday Spiritsâ Also Includes Two Original Christmas-Themed Compositions, Penned By Group Founder Dan Ponce (See Attached Tracklisting).

âI Think Their Potential Is Unlimited,â Said Atlantic Chairman/ceo Craig Kallman, Who Personally Signed Straight No Chaser. âThe Incredible Combination Of Their Amazing Voices, Great Material, Fantastic Sense Of Humor, And Huge Charisma Sets Them Completely Apart From What Anyone Usually Thinks Of When They Think âA Cappella Group.â TheyâRe Just A Great Group, Period. I Believe They Have A Terrific Future Ahead Of Them In The Musical Mainstream.â
Founded At Indiana University In The Fall Of 1996, Straight No ChaserâS Goal Was To Expand The Boundaries Of The Traditional College A Cappella Group. From The Start, They Viewed Themselves More Like A Local Band That Just Happened To Use Their Voices As Their Instruments. As Original Member Randy Stine Comments, âWe Take The Music Very Seriously; We Just DonâT Take Ourselves Too Seriously.â In The Process, They Are Reinventing The Idea Of A Cappella On The Modern Pop Landscape.

The 10-Man Group Performed At Campus Events And Sorority Functions, And Soon Found Themselves Headlining Their Own Concerts. Within Two Years, Straight No Chaser Was Touring Nationally. They Opened For Artists Like Lou Rawls, Performed At Chicago Cubs And White Sox Games, And Blew Away A Sold-Out Carnegie Hall Crowd At The National Championship Of Collegiate A Cappella.

In 1999, The Graduating Members Of Straight No Chaser Chose Their Replacements, Ensuring That The New Tradition They Had Created Would Continue On With Successive Generations Of Iu Undergrads. Then, In 2006, The Unexpected Happened â Indiana University Decided To Host A Reunion Concert For The Original Members. In Honor Of The Event, Randy Stine Posted Footage From One Of Their 1998 Concerts On Youtube.

To The Groupâs Surprise, Straight No Chaserâs Version Of âThe 12 Days Of Christmasâ â Interpolating TotoâS âAfricaâ â Became The Hottest Viral Video Of The Holiday Season, Receiving More Than 7 Million Views In December 2007 Alone. Among Those Millions Of Viewers Was Atlantic Records Chairman/ceo Craig Kallman, Who Tracked The Group Down And Promptly Signed Them To The Label.

The Birth Of Straight No ChaserâS Second Life Is A Story Of Talent, Drive, And Some Very Good Luck. But Their Goal Remains The Same As It Was Back In Their College Days. As Stine Says, âWe Want The Audience To Not Miss The Instruments, Be Surprised By What WeâRe Doing, And In The End, Appreciate The Songs In A Whole New Way.â

Straight No Chaser Is: Ryan Ahlwardt * Jerome Collins * Walter Chase * Michael Itkoff * Michael Luginbill * Charlie Mechling * Steve Morgan * Dan Ponce * David Roberts * Randy Stine.
For Up-To-The-Minute News And Information, Visit,, And

(Track Listing Below)

Straight No Chaser âHoliday Spiritsâ (Atlantic)
Release Date: October 28, 2008

1. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
2. Jingle Bell Rock
3. The Christmas Song
4. This Christmas
5. Christmas Wish
6. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing/angels We Have Heard On High
7. Little Saint Nick
8. The 12 Days Of Christmas (Live)
9. Indiana Christmas
10. Sweet Little Jesus Boy
11. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)
12. Carol Of The Bells
13. Silent Night
14. Auld Lang Syne

Produced By Straight No Chaser Co-Produced By Dave Weber