Press Releases

The White Stripes Under Great White Northern Lights
January 21 2010

The White Stripes Under Great White Northern Lights

First-Ever Live Album & Documentary From Canadian Tour Available March 16, 2010

For Immediate Release.

In the Summer of 2007, The White Stripes embarked on a cross-country Canadian tour to accomplish their goal of performing in every province and territory across the expansive northern nation. On March 16th, the enigmatic duo will be releasing their first-ever official live album, featuring 16 songs on both vinyl and CD, as well as the Emmett Malloy-directed documentary film, Under Great White Northern Lights. These two incredible pieces, available bundled or individually, are a unique documentation of that journey, providing a fascinating look into the on and off stage lives of one of the worldâs most enigmatic bands.

Having first premiered at the Toronto Film Festival in September 2009, Under Great White Northern Lights, documents the band playing to crowds in towns of all sizes across the great white north - from traditional venues to matinee gigs at unusual locations such as a bowling alley, a boat and even on a city bus - culminating in a momentous 10th anniversary show at the historic savoy theatre in Glace Bay, Nove Soctia . A captivating mix of striking live footage and poignant off-stage moments, this visually stirring and emotive feature length film celebrates the bandâs 10 year history, bringing the band full circle in their career to a place reminiscent of how they first started out; shows where no one knew who they were, and where they were left to make a first impression with their music.

The live album continues that celebration and is a perfect companion piece to the film, featuring 16 songs recorded at various shows throughout the canadian tour - a collection that captures all the aural intensity and spontaneity that The White Stripes have become known for. A compelling reflection of the bandâs career, both the live album and the documentary will allow fans to reminisce about where they were when they first heard The White Stripes, while also adding extraordinary pieces of work to their already stunning artistic cannon.

Track Listing:
1. LetâS Shake Hands
2. Black Math
3. Little Ghost
4. Blue Orchid
5. The Union Forever
6. Ball And Biscuit
7. Icky Thump
8. IâM Slowly Turning Into You
9. Jolene
10. 300 Mph Torrential Outpour Blues
11. We Are Going To Be Friends
12. I Just DonâT Know What To Do With Myself
13. Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn
14. Fell In Love With A Girl
15. When I Hear My Name
16. Seven Nation Army

Some Praise For The Documentary:
ââ¦reveals As Much About Canadian Culture As It Does About Jack And Meg WhiteâS Friendship, Work Ethic And Music.â â Rollingstone

âOne-Of-A-Kind Scenesâ¦that Make This Film A True Gem.â â Spin

ââ¦can Credibly Be Included Alongside Such Canonical Rock-Docs As "gimme Shelter" And "don't Look Back." â La Times

ââ¦capture[S] The Quirkiness Of The Entire Tour, But Also The Intense Emotional Moments.â â Reuters

ââ¦a Pure Blast Of The Fierce Joy Of Live Rock 'n' Roll.â â Msn

Fans Will Also Be Able To Purchase The Live Album And Documentary As Part Of A Limited Edition Box Set, Which Includes Not Only The DVD, CD & Double Lp, But Also A Live Dvd Of The Bandâs 10th Anniversary Show, Under Nova Scotian Lights, As Well As An Exclusive 7 Inch, Hard Cover Book Of Photographs And A Silk-Screened Print. This Impressive Package Will Also Be Available On March 16th, With Pre-Orders Currently Being Accepted From

Limited Edition Box Set Includes:

⢠DVD Of The Documentary Film The White Stripes Under Great White Northern Lights, Directed By Emmett Malloy (92 Minutes)
⢠DVD Of The BandâS 10th Anniversary Show, The White Stripes Under Nova Scotian Lights, Directed By Emmett Malloy (135 Minutes)
⢠The First-Ever Official Live Album From The White Stripes, Featuring 16 Songs Recorded At Various Shows During Their 2007 Canadian Tour On Both Vinyl And Cd. The Double Lp Comes Pressed On 180 Gram Black Vinyl Packaged In A Gatefold Jacket With A 6 Panel Insert Unique To The Box Set. The Cd Accompanies The Film And Anniversary Show Dvds In A Special 7â Square 3 Panel Folder Along With A 24 Page Bound Booklet And Slipcase.
⢠7 Inch Vinyl Featuring Icky Thump (Live) And The Wheels On The Bus (Live). Two Versions Available With Different Artwork And Color Of Vinyl Depending On Your Country Of Residence.
⢠208 Page Hard Cover Book Containing Photographs Of The Canadian Tour Shot By Autumn De Wilde With A Foreword By Jim Jarmusch.
⢠1 Of 6 Different Silk-Screened Prints Designed By Rob Jones.

For More Information, Please Visit


For More Information Please Contact: Jonathan Elder
Warner Music Canada - National Publicity
(416) 758-1124
View PDF Version