Press Releases

Travis Good, Gordon Pinsent and Greg Keelor Join Forces For a Musical Feast - Down and Out in Upalong
February 28 2012

Monday, February 27, 2012


Noted musicians add music to great actorâs poetry

Album available on Compact Disc, Digitally and on Vinyl Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Exclusive interview and performances posted at

For immediate release

Warner Music Canada and TeleSoul Records are pleased to announce the release of the Good, Pinsent, Keelor album Down and Out in Upalong. The recording is a collaboration with original music composed by Travis Good (The Sadies) and Greg Keelor (Blue Rodeo) with lyrics / poems written by Canadian legend Gordon Pinsent. âUpalongâ is what Newfoundlanders referred to Canada as before joining the country as the 10th province in 1949.

In addition to the musical performances from Good and Keelor, the album includes Pinsent reading his poetry backed by additional music composed as accompaniment. Down and Out in Upalong will be available as a double CD, digitally and vinyl. Physical copies of the album can be pre-ordered through while digital pre-order are available at the iTunes Store at

âThe writing was just something that would open up for me - whether itâs novels or screen plays or stage plays,â says Gordon Pinsent. âAnytime I would finish a long writing job Iâd stop and write a little lyric and use it as a sort of switch to get me out of the mood that I was in and into the mood I could be in, if I chose the lyrics carefully.â

âIn March 2010, filmmaker Mike Bolland phoned Travis Good and invited him to meet Gordon Pinsent with whom he had been shooting a bio-pic Still Rowdy After All These Years,â says Greg Keelor, recalling the genesis of the project. âAfter long days of shooting and a couple of single malts, Gordon would be encouraged to read his poetry. Bollandâs wife knew Travisâ wife and so Mike called Travis who then found himself in Gordonâs apartment listening to the poems. Travis took the poems home and called me over to see if we could co-write some music to go along with them. We wrote four songs that night and liked them all â which is strange for us â we donât generally like anything that we write, even for ourselves. It was like the songs were writing themselves. Gordon told us that we could edit the poems as we please but for the most part the meter and the mood inspired the melody and the fell of our songs.â

Travis and Greg sang and played guitar while Travis added bass parts. Joining the trio in the studio were drummer Mike Belitsky on drums and Michael Boguski oon piano and keyboards. Trumpet player Bryden Baird provided arrangements for the backing tracks of a number of Gordon Pinsentâs spoken word pieces.

Exclusive interview and performances posted at:

An intimate look at the story behind the record and exclusive performances can be found at:

Down and Out in Upalong tracklisting:
1. UpAlong
2. Sheâs Gone Again
3. Desperate Thing
4. Peter Eastern
5. Let Go
6. Easy Ridge
7. Old Part Of Town
8. Super Chicken
9. Night Light
10. Seagrass
11. Shadows In The Sun
12. Seagrass (spoken word)
13. Old Part Of Town (spoken word)
14. Shadows In The Sun (spoken word)
15. Let Go (spoken word)
16. Peter Eastern (spoken word)
17. Desperate Thing (spoken word)
18. Easy Ridge (spoken word)
19. Charm (spoken word)
20. Night Light (spoken word)
21. UpAlong (spoken word)
22. Sheâs Gone Again (spoken word)


For more information: Steve Waxman, Warner Music Canada
P: (416) 7581-097 / E: