Press Releases

The Black Keys' Release Tour Rehearsal Tapes EP
October 09 2012


Tour Rehearsal Tapes, a new digital EP from The Black Keys, is released on October 9 on Nonesuch Records. Available exclusively on iTunes for the first two weeks, the EP features six songs recorded live in the studio during December 2011 (see below for full track-listing). The EP comes as the duo’s acclaimed 2011 full-length album, El Camino, is officially certified RIAA Platinum in the U.S. It is also Platinum in Ireland and UK; double Platinum in Australia, Canada, and New Zealand; and Gold in Belgium and France. The band’s 2010 breakthrough album, Brothers, is also certified RIAA Platinum.

This spring and summer, The Black Keys played sold-out shows at arenas around the world, including Chicago’s United Center, DC’s Verizon Center and two at New York’s Madison Square Garden, as well as headlining festivals such as Coachella and Lollapalooza. On September 29, the band also joined fellow headliners Neil Young with Crazy Horse and Foo Fighters in New York’s Central Park for a free concert in front of nearly 60,000 fans as part of Global Festival 2012. This month, The Black Keys return for a series of western U.S. performances; shows include two nights at L.A.’s Staples Center and a performance closing out the first night of the Austin City Limits Music Festival. They will return to Europe in November and December for their biggest tour to date, including concerts in Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Holland, Germany and the UK.

Released in December 2011 on Nonesuch Records, El Camino was produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys and was recorded in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011. The record debuted at #3 in Canada on the Soundscan Top Albums chart and its first single, “Lonely Boy,” reached #1 on The Rock Radio charts and is certified Platinum. The second single, “Gold on the Ceiling,” also reached #1 at Rock Radio and is certified Gold. The album’s third single, “Little Black Submarines,” hit #1 in Canada this week on the Rock radio charts. Other highlights from the past year include appearances on Saturday Night Live, The Colbert Report and the Late Show with David Letterman. The band also recently was featured on the cover of Rolling Stone.

The Black Keys—Akron, OH natives Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney—released their debut album, The Big Come Up, in 2002, followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004). In 2006 they signed to Nonesuch Records in the U.S. and released their fourth album, Magic Potion, which was followed by the Danger Mouse-produced Attack & Release in 2008 and the Grammy award-winning Brothers in 2010. El Camino is the first Black Keys album Nonesuch released worldwide.


1. Dead and Gone (Live In Studio)

2. Gold on the Ceiling (Live In Studio)

3. Lonely Boy (Live In Studio)

4. Next Girl (Live In Studio)

5. Run Right Back (Live In Studio)

6. Tighten Up (Live In Studio)