Press Releases

R.E.M.'s Green Revolution
March 06 2013


25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Of The Bandâs Major-Label Breakthrough Includes Original Album Remastered And Live Disc Spotlighting
The Penultimate Show Of 1989 World Tour; Available May 14 From Rhino

Green Remastered Will Also Be Available On 180-Gram Vinyl The Same Day

Five Song Live In Greensboro EP Will Be Released On CD As Record Store Day Exclusive On April 20

LOS ANGELES â R.E.M. achieved global success with the 1988 release of GREEN, the Athens, Georgia quartetâs sixth studio album and first for Warner Bros. Records, which would be the bandâs label home for the rest of their recording career. While R.E.M. was fast becoming one of the most acclaimed and revered acts in the U.S., GREEN was their first album to gain the attention of a worldwide audience. Packed with tracks destined to be definitive additions to the bandâs canon, including âOrange Crush,â âPop Song 89,â and âStand,â GREEN was certified double platinum by the RIAA and doubled the domestic sales of the bandâs previous release. GREEN continued R.E.M.âs dedication to the message of social consciousness, as evidenced by the albumâs title, which would go on to became a ubiquitous buzzword for environmentally friendly initiatives.

To celebrate the landmark albumâs 25-year anniversary, Rhino is releasing a two-disc deluxe edition that features the remastered original album accompanied by a disc of live performances taken from the penultimate show of R.E.M.âs 130-date Green World Tour. All 21 songs were recorded in Greensboro, North Carolina on November 10, 1989, just miles from where Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Bill Berry had their very first recording session at Mitch Easterâs Drive-In Studio in Winston-Salem.

The anniversary set is packaged in a hard clamshell box (similar to previous R.E.M. reissues) and comes with four postcards and a foldout poster, plus insightful liner notes by Uncut editor, Allan Jones. GREEN: 25TH ANNIVERSARY DELUXE EDITION will be available on May 14 as a 2-disc set and digitally. The same day, the remastered album with original art and packaging will also be available on 180-gram vinyl.

In anticipation of the anniversary set, Rhino will release a limited edition, five-track EP as part of Record Store Day. This exclusive CD features a handful of performances from the Greensboro show that, due to space constraints, are not found on the Deluxe Edition, including the Green track âI Remember Californiaâ and classics like âSo. Central Rainâ and âFeeling Gravitys Pull.â Limited to just 2,500 copies, the disc comes with an original (non-reproduction) patch from the Green Tour. These patches were recently uncovered in the bandâs vault. The LIVE IN GREENSBORO EP will be available for Record Store Day on April 20. For a list of participating stores, please visit

The concert spread across the anniversary set and the Record Store Day EP captures a fiery set from R.E.M., which had been forged in the crucible of nearly one year of shows. R.E.M. performed most of GREEN (âGet Upâ âWorld Leader Pretendâ and âYou Are The Everythingâ), while mixing in early favorites like âFall On Me,â âFinest Worksong,â âThe One I Loveâ and âPerfect Circleâ from the bandâs 1983 debut Murmur. The show also finds the band testing out new songs (âLowâ and âBelongâ) that would appear two years later on GREENâs follow-up, Out Of Time.

For more information please visit:

Track Listing

Disc One â Original Album
1. âPop Song 89â
2. âGet Upâ
3. âYou Are The Everythingâ
4. âStandâ
5. âWorld Leader Pretendâ
6. âThe Wrong Childâ
7. âOrange Crushâ
8. âTurn You Inside Outâ
9. âHairshirtâ
10. âI Remember Californiaâ
11. âUntitledâ

Disc Two â Live In Greensboro 1989
1. âStandâ
2. âThe One I Loveâ
3. âTurn You Inside Outâ
4. âBelongâ
5. âExhuming McCarthyâ
6. âGood Advicesâ
7. âOrange Crushâ
8. âCuyahogaâ
9. âThese Daysâ
10. âWorld Leader Pretendâ
11. âI Believeâ
12. âGet Upâ
13. âLife And How To Live Itâ
14. âIts The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)â
15. âPop Song 89â
16. âFall On Meâ
17. âYou Are The Everythingâ
18. âBegin The Beginâ
19. âLowâ
20. âFinest Worksongâ
21. âPerfect Circleâ

LIVE IN GREENSBORO EP â Record Store Day Exclusive

1. âSo. Central Rain (Iâm Sorry)â
2. âFeeling Gravitys Pullâ
3. âStrangeâ
4. âKing of Birdsâ
5. âI Remember Californiaâ