Press Releases

February 25 2014

New releases on the horizon from Rodney Crowell, Robert Ellis, Luther Dickinson and Wild Moccasins

Monday, February 24, 2014 – For immediate release

Warner Music Canada is thrilled to announce an association with New West Records to distribute new releases and catalogue product from the label that is home to some of North America’s leading indie rock and Americana acts.

“As a longtime fan of New West Records roster, I am thrilled to embark on this partnership in Canada,” says Warner Music Canada President Steve Kane. “We look forward to introducing New West artists to a wider audience in Canada.”

The first releases from this new partnership will be Robert Ellis’ new album The Lights From The Chemical Plant and the Wild Moccasins 88 92, both released on Tuesday, March 4. Rodney Crowell’s new album, Tarpaper Sky is scheduled for release on Tuesday, April 15. See below for a full list of upcoming New West releases.

With offices in Burbank, CA, Athens, GA and Austin, TX, New West boasts a number of Grammy®-award winning artists including Buddy Miller, Delbert McClinton, Patty Griffin, Steve Earle and Tom Morello and is home to an eclectic roster including Anthony D'Amato, Austin Lucas, Ben Miller Band, Buddy & Julie Miller, Buxton, Corb Lund, Grandfather Child, Hamell On Trial, Howe Gelb, John Hiatt, Luther Dickinson, Max Gomez, Nikki Lane, Ponderosa, Randall Bramblett, Richard Thompson, Robert Ellis, Rodney Crowell, Stephen Bruton, The Devil Makes Three, The Flatlanders, The Mastersons, The Whigs, Wild Moccasins and Yip Deceiver; and the Normaltown Records imprint dedicated to developing and emerging artists. Recently New West acquired the Texas Music Group including the Antone’s and Watermelon Records labels.

Over the last 15 years New West has released albums by Ben Lee, Benji Hughes, Drive-By Truckers, Dwight Yoakam, Ian Hunter, Jason Isbell, Jordan Zevon, Mark Olson & Gary Louris, Old 97's, Ray Davies, Rickie Lee Jones, Tim Easton and Vic Chesnutt, as well as an extensive selection of CDs and DVDs from the award-winning television program "Austin City Limits."

New West Records has also released several movie soundtracks including the Grammy®-Award winning Crazy Heart Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, featuring the song “The Weary Kind (Theme From Crazy Heart)” written by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett, which won a Grammy, Golden Globe and Academy Award.

Upcoming releases from New West Records:

March 4
Robert Ellis - The Lights From The Chemical Plant
Wild Moccasins - 88 92

March 11
New Madrid - Sunswimmer

March 18
Luther Dickinson - Rock ‘n Roll Blues
Ruby The RabbitFoot - New As Dew

April 15
Rodney Crowell - Tarpaper Sky

May 12
Hamell On Trial - The Happiest Man In The World