Press Releases

February 21 2014

NEW YORK, NY – February 21, 2014: Warner Music Canada today announced a partnership with renowned independent record label Mute. Since its launch more than three decades ago, the Mute roster has included seminal artists such as Depeche Mode, Moby, Erasure, Goldfrapp, Can, Yaz and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Warner Music Canada will contribute its digital & physical distribution services to releases from the label’s roster of artists in the US & Canada.

Founded in 1978 by Daniel Miller, the London-based Mute has long been a pioneer in signing and developing some of the most innovative and influential artists in modern music, a mission that perseveres to this day. Today, the label continues to be a home to a crop of emerging talent such as M83, Apparat (and collaboration Moderat), Josh T. Pearson, The Knife, José González (and his band Junip), Polly Scattergood, Fever Ray, Big Deal, and Maps. Releases are expected this year from Liars, Cold Specks, Yann Tiersen and Beth Jeans Houghton.

While maintaining a firmly eclectic roster—from the earliest days of The Normal, Fad Gadget, and DAF, through to the techno era with artists such as Plastikman/Richie Hawtin and Speedy J, and to the present day with hybrid electronic artists such as M83 and Goldfrapp —the label has always been a champion of electronic music. Mute also looks after a catalog of seminal electronic artists such as Can and Cabaret Voltaire.
Upcoming Mute releases:
March 18 Laibach Spectre
March 25 Liars Mess
April 1 M83 You and the Night
April 22 Cabaret Voltaire Drinking Gasoline